LandWatch.org

Extension for Fort Ord Reuse Authority Proposed by Assembly Member Monning, Bill has Conditional Support from LandWatch

According to existing state law, the Fort Ord Reuse Authority (FORA) was “established to prepare, adopt, finance and implement a plan for the future use and development of the territory occupied by the Ford Ord military base.” FORA is slated to sunset on June 30, 2014, but State Assembly member Bill Monning’s Assembly Bill 1614 would extend the sunset date for FORA by another 10 years, until 2025. This may seem like a simple extension; however a lot has happened politically, economically and otherwise that greatly impacts the Fort Ord area and the feasibility of extension.

LandWatch Monterey County supports AB 1614 with the five conditions listed below. First, the FORA Plan, adopted in 1997, should be updated at least every ten years beginning in 2014 to account for new laws, changing land use patterns and economic conditions. Second, instead of planning for future road capacity needs, a focus on the infrastructure and land uses that address urban blight should be a requirement of the plan revisions. Third, the appeal process and associated fees of $5000 are excessive and deny the public a right to petition their government; therefore, LandWatch supports eliminating the fees. Fourth, with a Plan that hasn’t been updated in 15 years and policies that aren’t consistently followed, LandWatch supports improved enforcement of an Updated FORA Plan. Finally, FORA should develop and adopt a Phase-Out Plan. Follow this link to review the LandWatch letter to Assemblymember Monning (145K PDF file).

Calls and Emails are needed to the Local Government Committee by residents to support the LandWatch position by Wednesday, March 21st. AB 1614 (142K pdf file) will be heard on Wednesday, March 21st at 1:30 PM by the Local Government Committee in Sacramento. LandWatch will be there, and we need your help! Two key Assembly leaders (Smyth and Alejo) and the Committee members need to hear from you on AB 1614. To assist with this effort, contact each member of the Committee of the State Assembly Local Government to support adding five conditions to AB 1614. Please phone or email:

  Chair Cameron Smyth
assemblymember.smyth@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2038
 
  Vice Chair Luis Alejo
assemblymember.alejo@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2028
 
  Asm. Steven Bradford
assemblymember.bradford@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2051
 
 

Asm. Nora Campos
assemblymember.campos@assembly.ca.gov

916-319-2023
 
  Asm. Mike Davis
assemblymember.davis@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2048
 
  Asm. Richard Gordon
assemblymember.gordon@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2021
 
  Asm. Ben Hueso
assemblymember.hueso@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2079
 
  Asm. Steve Knight
assemblymember.knight@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2036
 
  Asm. Chris Norby
assemblymember.norby@assembly.ca.gov
916-319-2072

Talking Points:

Thank you for your support. Together we can make a difference.

[Return to Fort Ord Issues and Actions]

03.08.12