landwatch logo   Home Issues & Actions About

Archive Page
This page is available as an archive to previous versions of LandWatch websites.

A LandWatch Action Alert:
Major Decisions Face FORA on August 8th


The Board of Directors of the Fort Ord Reuse Authority (FORA) will vote on Friday, August 8, 2003 on a set of affordable housing recommendations proposed by Congress Member Sam Farr. The meeting will begin at 2:00 p.m. at the FORA Conference Center, 102 13th Street, Building 2925. The Conference Center is easily reached from the 12th Street Exit from Highway One (on the former Fort Ord).

Congress Member Farr's recommendations, if adopted, would result in the construction of more than 3,000 new affordable housing units on the former Fort Ord. These would be offered first to local workers and residents, and they would remain permanently affordable.

It is hard to overstate the importance of this upcoming FORA meeting. If you support a requirement for affordable housing on the former Fort Ord, your attendance at the meeting on Friday would really help!

Phone calls or letters to the FORA members who will vote on these affordable housing proposals would also be very much appreciated. A list of the voting members is attached at the end of this action alert. Email addresses are also included!

If you'd like more information, please contact:

Elizabeth Panetta, Community Action Advocate
LandWatch Monterey County

Box 1876
Salinas, CA 93902
Telephone: 831-759-2824, Ext. 14
FAX: 831-759-2825

FORA Members & Alternates

Mayor Sue McCloud
Councilmember Gerard Rose

P.O. Box CC
Carmel, CA 93921
Phone: 831-620-2000

City of Del Rey Oaks
1st Vice Chair - Mayor Jack Barlich
Vice-Mayor Joseph Russell

650 Canyon Del Rey
Del Rey Oaks, CA 93940
Phone: 831-394-8511

City of Marina
2nd Vice Chair - Mayor Ila Mettee-McCutchon
Mayor Pro Tem Michael Morrison

211 Hillcrest Avenue
Marina, CA 93933
Phone: 831-884-1278

City of Monterey
Mayor Dan Albert
City Hall

Monterey, CA 93940
Phone: 831-646-3760

County of Monterey
Supervisor Edith Johnsen

2616 1st Avenue
Marina, CA 93933
Phone: 831-883-7570
Supervisor Dave Potter
1200 Aguajito Road, Ste. 001
Monterey, CA 93940
Phone: 831-647-7755

County of Monterey
Supervisor Lou Calcagno

P.O. Box 787
Castroville, CA 95012
Phone: 831-755-5063

City of Pacific Grove
Councilmember Ron Schenk

300 Forest Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone: 831-648-3100

City of Salinas
Councilmember Janet Barnes
Councilmember Sergio Sanchez

200 Lincoln Avenue
Salinas, CA 93901
Phone: 831-758-7201

City of Sand City
Mayor David Pendergrass

1 Sylvan Park
Sand City, CA 93955
Phone: 831-394-3054

City of Seaside
Chair - Mayor Jerry Smith
Mayor ProTem Tom Mancini
Councilmember Ralph Rubio

440 Harcourt Avenue
Seaside, CA 93955
Phone: 831-899-6200

We don't have direct email addresses for all of the voting members of the FORA Board of Directors, but here is what we do have:

Jerry Smith, Seaside -
Tom Mancini, Seaside -
Joseph Russell, Del Rey Oaks (c/o City Clerk) -
David Pendergrass, Sand City (c/o City Manager) -
Dan Albert, Monterey (c/o City Clerk) -
Ila Mettee-McCutchon, Marina -
Michael Morrison, Marina -
Lou Calcagno, County -
Dave Potter, County -
Edith Johnsen, County -
Sue McCloud, Carmel-by-the-Sea -
Ron Schenk, Pacific Grove -
Janet Barnes, Salinas -

posted 07.31.03

LandWatch's mission is to protect Monterey County's future by addressing climate change, community health, and social inequities in housing and infrastructure. By encouraging greater public participation in planning, we connect people to government, address human needs and inspire conservation of natural resources.



306 Capitol Street #101
Salinas, CA 93901

PO Box 1876
Salinas, CA 93902-1876

Phone (831) 759-2824

Fax (831) 759-2825




Issues & Actions