The Greater Monterey Peninsula Planning Area is bordered by the North County and Greater Salinas Planning Areas on the north, the Toro and Cachagua Planning Areas on the east, and the Coast Planning Area on the south. Within its boundaries lie the incorporated coastal cities of Monterey, Carmel, Seaside, Pacific Grove, Marina, Sand City, and Del Rey Oaks. Federal lands in the Planning Area include the 27,954-acre Fort Ord military reservation, the 392 acre Presidio of Monterey and approximately 9,000 acres of the Los Padres National Forest. The County’s General Plan contains the Greater Monterey Peninsula Area Plan and it is one of eight area plans which address local issues. An area plan may be more specific than the General Plan because development opportunities, constraints, and natural resources of the Greater Monterey Peninsula Planning Area are unlike those in other parts of the County.

The following geographies and topics include both current and archived projects that are featured in the Monterey Peninsula section and can be accessed on this summary page or on the right navigation menu:

Monterey Peninsula
Issues & Actions